From Procrastination to Productivity: How I’m Trying to Improve My Focus

Jake Boucher
3 min readOct 25, 2023
Photo by Paul Fiedler on Unsplash

There are 68 days until 2024.

Wow.

Time does go by faster the older you get.

Quick story

In 5th or 6th grade, I first realized just how fast time goes by.

I was sitting in the living room with my parents watching TV, and I looked at the clock at 7:22 PM and put my head down for what felt like 10 seconds, then looked up, and it was 7:24 PM.

That was my first wake-up call to the concept of time going by fast.

The older I get, the more I value my time. When you’re young, it feels like you’ll never run out of time.

I’ve begun to appreciate that I won’t be around forever, my parents won’t be around forever, my brother, etc.

It puts things in perspective.

Wasting time

I waste a lot of time, I’m sure you do as well.

Now I’m at the point where I’m wondering how to stop wasting as much time as I do. How can I take advantage of my hours to better my life and my family and friends’ lives?

It feels like I’ve never had a clear vision in my head. It’s hard to stay focused on my daily tasks. I don’t put things in perspective as much…

--

--