I Made My First “Official” Cold Call…

Jake Boucher
3 min readJun 15, 2018
by Gilles Lambert on Unsplash

I wrote a story at the beginning of the month of May explaining why summer 2018 is do or die for me (click here to see the story).

In that story, I laid out my plan for the summer. How I plan to go about that and whatnot. And cold calling is definitely high on the list of things I need to do.

Last week I made my first official cold call. The reason why I put quotations around the word official in the title is that I had never made a prior cold call to someone I had never made prior contact with. I explained all of this in one of my recent podcast episodes, but my readers for my blog need to hear this as well.

Remember, my goal for each piece of content I produce whether that be this blog, my podcast, or YouTube channel is to provide value to at least one person. If it’s more than that, then great!

Anyway, getting back on topic. I’ve made prior calls before this one but all of the previous ones were to people who I had talked to before. Whether that was email or in person.

This one, on the other hand, I had sent an email a few days before making the call, but the individual never responded.

So, I called him up to follow-up my email.

I was expecting a receptionist to pick up the phone, but I got right through to the owner which…

--

--