Is Facebook Still the Right Choice for Marketing Your Business to the Younger Demographic?

Jake Boucher
4 min readFeb 17, 2018
Courtesy of Unsplash.com

Short answer, yes. But there are complications.

Facebook’s audience is huge. Yes, the younger demographic isn’t as active on Facebook as they are on Twitter and Instagram, but they still check in on Facebook every now and then.

Millennials use Facebook for watching funny videos, staying in touch with friends and family, getting the latest news, etc. This is coming from a millennial in myself.

You can win the younger generation with video. By showing creativity and attraction, you can win any demographic. But your video content for millennials has to be different from that of the 60+ crowd (obviously). Creativity will always be your best friend, no matter what age you’re marketing too.

Moving along

I recently had a conversation with one of my friends regarding Facebook. I’ll be upfront with you, I’m not a huge Facebook fan. It just doesn’t appeal to me. I’m more of a Twitter and Instagram kind of person.

Anyway, getting back to the conversation. I asked my friend if he enjoyed using Facebook and he said yes. I then asked him why and he said that he enjoys watching videos on Facebook, especially the cooking videos. Video is hugely popular on Facebook for younger…

--

--