My Days In College Are Over

Jake Boucher
4 min readMar 17, 2020

This is not how I envisioned my college career ending.

One month ago, this virus was an afterthought to me. What college student one month ago could truly say that this virus would be responsible for the school year ending in March? My guess is no one.

And yet here we are today, with all of this becoming a reality. It truly sucks.

On Wednesday, March 11th, my school got an email stating that we would not be having in-person classes until March 30th. I remember when I first read over that email. I had no doubt in my mind that I went to my last class that previous Thursday, spent my last ever college weekend with my best friends, went to the bar for the last time on a Thursday night, and had my last ever “social hour” with my best friends at dinner.

It was wishful thinking to expect to return to school on the 30th.

Then, yesterday, we received an email from our university president making my previous thoughts a reality. All classes will be held online indefinitely.

I didn’t feel much of anything when I read through that email. Partly because I expected it, partly because I was in shock, and partly because I was in denial.

After sitting on it for 30 minutes, my mom told me dinner was ready. I didn’t have an appetite for food at the moment, my…

--

--