Put the Blame on You and Only You

Jake Boucher
3 min readJul 4, 2018
Photo by Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

I never realized how much I should have been taking the blame for some things (and by some things, I mean 98% of things).

I was in a similar situation as most people. When something happened to me that was not supposed to happen, I would try to put the blame on someone else. I would look for the nearest scapegoat.

But around a month ago, I really shifted my mindset. I wanted to try something new. So, I started putting the blame on myself because, in the grand scheme of things, we’re the only ones to blame.

I never actually realized how much I am at fault for 98% of the things that happen to me. It’s not my parents’ fault, not my brothers, not my friends, it’s me and only me.

All of this directly correlates to achieving your goals. I am the only one to blame for not being where I want to be. I used to blame someone else for me not being where I want to be. You have to take a step back and ask yourself if you are the person to blame for not being where you want to be (your answer should surprise you).

From that day forward, I started to put the blame on myself for everything. It opened my eyes as to what can be accomplished with this mindset.

So, if you’re wondering what you could do to improve your current mindset as it is right now, I HIGHLY suggest that you…

--

--