Stop Overthinking

Jake Boucher
2 min readApr 11, 2020
Photo by Marco Allegretti on Unsplash

We’ve all been a victim of overthinking. I am currently in this phase and it’s not fun.

We’re all in a unique situation in our lives at the moment and it gives us a lot of time to think. For some of us, maybe a little too much time to think.

Since I woke up, I have tried to keep my mind busy. I’ve read, written this article, raked my yard, and watched some videos for an online course. I’ve tried to keep my mind off a particular situation and it’s been working.

I will admit that the last month or so since my college canceled the rest of the semester, I have constantly been overthinking a situation in my life. This has led me to make a few decisions that I wish I could take back, but the reality of it is, I can’t.

My productivity level has decreased drastically and my mood hasn’t been all that good.

But today I feel different. Keeping my mind occupied is exactly what I needed. If any of you reading this are in the same and/or similar situation, try to keep your mind busy and fight the subconscious urge to think about whatever it is that’s on your mind.

Whenever you feel the urge to think about it, immediately start thinking about something that makes you happy. It’s a long process to stop overthinking. I have found this out the hard way.

I’m taking this time to better myself and learn more things, while also focusing on my business and school still. The key is to always keep your mind occupied with other things.

It’s going to be a battle to beat the urge of overthinking. With the right mindset, you and I will prevail.

--

--