The Future of Video Games

Jake Boucher
3 min readAug 29, 2018

This morning I was reading the newest edition of the financial newspaper Barron’s.

This is what the cover looks like:

This cover immediately piqued my interest because I have an interest in learning what the future of video games looks like (also I wanted to see if any gaming companies would be worth investing in).

Anyway, I read the entire story, it was only four or so pages, but the words on those four pages were extremely insightful.

The most important thing I took away from this article was the fact that there is going to be a MASSIVE change in the gaming industry in the years to come (it’s already starting to take place).

“The cloud” is going to take the gaming industry by storm.

The cloud gives consumers the ability to play the same game on their smartphone, laptop, and TV.

The cloud allows users to access vast computing power online using simple devices, like phones, cheap laptops, and TV’s.

Analysts expect EA (Electronic Arts) to introduce a subscription-based cloud service for playing AAA games within two to three years.

--

--