Vine is Coming Back! Here’s What it Could Mean for Marketers

Jake Boucher
4 min readDec 7, 2017

It’s back!

Dom Hofmann, founder of the original Vine announced yesterday on Twitter that Vine would in fact, be making a comeback.

This quite possibly might be the simplest tweet you will ever see to get over 100,000 retweets. But with a simple “v2” and a picture, that was plenty to get people’s attention.

There’s been so many people that have long awaited the return of the popular social network. People were devastated when the original Vine was taken away from us. I’ll admit, I was one of those people.

I used to stay up late at night watching various vines. The video creators were some of the funniest people I have ever come across.

You can imagine my excitement when Dom Hofmann announced Vine 2 yesterday along with the rest of my generation. Reading the Vine news on Twitter was a sight to see. All of these people were so excited to see this app make a comeback.

But I think marketers and brands should be excited the most.

For those of you that don’t know, Vine videos only lasted a maximum of 6 seconds. You could make…

--

--