What Everybody Needs to Know About Achieving Their Goals

Jake Boucher
3 min readOct 31, 2017

--

I used to not be motivated AT ALL. I had big dreams, but I honestly thought they would just find me one day and I would live the life of my dreams without having to put in the work (I’m laughing at this statement as I write it). Back then I knew that I would achieve my goals one day, but I didn’t know how to get there. In the present day, I know exactly how to get where I want to be. It just takes a lot of work, the constant need for improvement, learning from your mistakes and moving on, and not caring what anybody says about you.

There’s only a few things I hate in this world and the thing I hate the absolute most, is the thought of working for someone else. I hate when someone tells me what to do. I’ve only had one job in my young life so far. That is the only job I plan on having for as long as I live. If you gave me the option between making $100,000 a year with all the benefits included working for a company, or pursuing my dreams and knowing I won’t accomplish them for 10 years, I would pick the latter every single time. If you gave me the option of working 40 hours a week and I was guaranteed that I was going to make $100,000 a year plus benefits, or working 90 hours a week working for myself, I would pick the latter again.

It is not in my DNA to work for someone else. I finally figured out what I truly wanted in life and that is to be an entrepreneur and help other people with their lives. 7 months ago I came to the realization that it just wasn’t for me to work for someone else.

Being an entrepreneur is all about bringing value to other people. If you bring people sincere value that will benefit their lives, they will love you for it. Figure out a problem that you have in your life and it is almost a guarantee that thousands of other people will have that same problem as well. What bothers you the most in your day to day life? Find a solution for it and let the world know.

I know this is going to be a long tough road. There are going to be numerous hurdles on this journey and I am looking forward to every single one. As Gary Vaynerchuk says, you learn more from your mistakes than you do from your successes. If things aren’t going your way, don’t give up. Most people usually give up right before they make it. That’s my advice to you, don’t ever give up.

In life you are going to make so many mistakes. How you handle those mistakes determines your readiness to make it to the next level. Learn, learn, learn. Never stop learning and especially never stop learning from your mistakes.

If you believe deep down that you can accomplish your goals, ignore any negative feedback that you get. Or better yet, use them as motivation to get where you want to be and your results will speak for themselves. A lot of people’s dreams come crashing down because they listen to others saying that they can’t get there. Most of the time it’s their own parents saying that they should be realistic. You have to examine yourself and see if you truly can get to where you want to be. Maybe those people criticizing you are trying to tell you something. But if you believe deep down that you can accomplish your dreams, by all means, go all in.

The only person stopping you from the life of your dreams is yourself. What are you going to do about it?

--

--