What Tiger Woods Has Taught Me

Jake Boucher
4 min readJul 23, 2018

I still remember it like it was yesterday.

The year was 2013 at The Masters during the second round. The day my love for golf and Tiger Woods initially began.

I remember sitting down on my couch when Tiger was playing the 13th hole at Augusta National during the second round of The Masters.

Tiger had a gap wedge into the par 5 15th.

And then this happened:

For some reason, it was at this moment that my love for golf and Tiger Woods began. I wish I could tell you why, but this is where it all began. Even though he ultimately lost 4 shots total on this hole (water hazard penalty, drop, 2 strokes for having a bad drop).

Ever since that day, I have watched every single round he has played in, major or non-major. If I am not able to watch his full round, then I try my best to catch at least a glimpse of the GOAT (greatest of all time) himself.

I have watched some of his worst rounds and some of his best rounds. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. It’s part of the process of…

--

--