Why TikTok Is Already On It’s Way To Being The Next Big Social Media Platform

Jake Boucher
3 min readAug 20, 2019

I really do think TikTok is already on its way to being the next big social media platform.

As of this writing, TikTok is the 4th most downloaded free app in the Apple app store. It’s ahead of Snapchat, YouTube, Facebook, and Twitter. Instagram has it beat by 1 spot coming in at number 3.

This alone tells me that TikTok is here to stay. It’s a big accomplishment to be the 4th most downloaded free app. At any point in time.

I haven’t posted any content on TikTok as of this writing. But from what I have seen from browsing other people’s content on the platform, it is unique. And unique is a good thing. It stands out amongst the competition.

There’s no other major platform that’s remotely similar to it. The aspect of having your favorite song playing in the background and you dancing and singing along (or lip-syncing), is unique.

TikTok is described as being specifically engineered for short lip-sync, comedy, and talent videos.

It is the perfect platform for creative people. Let your creativity shine when creating content for this platform. I have seen some pretty outlandish videos on TikTok. I’ve thought to myself many times…

--

--