You’re Gonna Die

Jake Boucher
3 min readNov 12, 2019
Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

Yes that is a real title. It’s pretty grim right?

No matter what we as humans do, we all die one day.

Recently I have adopted a new mindset. Numerous times during the day, I say to myself “I could possibly die tomorrow.” This is the mindset I have used the last week or so.

I even set a reminder in my phone that says “I could possibly die tomorrow.” This reminder is the first thing I see each morning.

I immediately think what I could do in that moment that I would want to do before I die. This ranges from talking to someone I never talk to, writing a blog post (like this one), sending an email to someone that could be a potential client, recording a podcast episode, going to the gym, the list goes on.

We all have goals and dreams we want to accomplish. Ever since we were little, we’ve had dreams of being something when we grow up. Firefighter, baseball player, astronaut, we’ve all been there.

Most of our childhood dreams never come to fruition. As we get older, our wants and desires change. It’s the story of life. It’s the backbone of being a human. We are constantly evolving.

Power, Affiliation, Achievement

Every single human being has one of these three driving forces behind their actions. These are defined as the basic needs that…

--

--